sorethroat
now
then
sign
readables
FAQ
host
know

jan 13 2015
annual update; still aging

Jan 13 2014
alive2014

april 26 2010
not the entry i wanted to write

nov 13 2009
polar extremes

sep 21 2009
cure for angst is dictatorship

my journey today jan 13 2004 - 2.11 pm

i was just going to ask if someone could please tell me where i keep my visine - smoking up and heading out the door to see a professor is NOT a good idea if you don't know where your visine happens to be. i'm always running around, newly stoned, lifting up pieces of paper, checking out shelves, looking in drawers - then lifting up the same pieces of paper again since i forgot that i had already looked there...etc. anyway, it's too late now - i braved the open world and its judging eyes, saw my professor for 3 seconds, went on my way and now i'm here. and i've just found where i put my visine.

i had to go get the back of an envelope signed. a half an hour walk to get a piddly signature, which is, according to the signee, "not a big deal" as it's all done through the department, blahddy blah blah bloo. i said "well, i'd like to have everything else done right so that if something does go wrong, i have nothing to blame but myself!" in my comically self-depracatory way. cue chuckle, i'm out the door.

this was also a stressful time frame since i attempted my first official stalking of prof. h. - well, i suppose this is nowhere near "My First Attempt," is it? but it felt like it because i was going to mill around in an area by which i knew he would be walking. make sense? creating the illusion of pure, random coincidence. his class goes from 2-4, and classes start at 10 minutes after the hour. prof. beady-eyes told me to come by his office at 2. prof. h's class is on the path between my point of origin and prof. beady-eyes's office. i thought, bingo-bango, i'll just walk through that building, out the front, and there he might be, walking in. but the time coordination was poor. i was rushing from home as i thought i would be too late, but i got to the building at 1.56 - perhaps too early for a prof to show up? was prof h. punctual? i couldn't remember - i think he was, and wasn't. RANDOM.

so i walked through the building, keeping my headphones on and my eyes scanning, scanning, scanning...i went out the other side - nothing. i walked down the steps s-l-o-w-l-y. nothing. hm. don't be a stalker, i told myself. so i crossed the road and went to see beady-eyes. (see paragraph #2)

it went so quickly that it was barely 2.01 when i was finished. maybe i could still catch prof. h. on his way! oh, joyful second chances. i motored back towards the building...my excuse? to visit the transcript office. he doesn't need to know i visited yesterday. lovvvvely.

but alas, no sighting on the flip side, either. i thought very briefly about going to the second floor (where his class is located) under the guise of trying to FIND the transcript office, but the lawful side of me told me to step down. fate had won this round. but i *will* control fate...

(insert evil maniacal laugh here: muhahahahaahahahaahahaaahaha!)

but wouldn't you know, i stepped outside the rear of the building, and ran into a friend, a fellow prof-obsessor, and told her the good news - that she was in His vicinity. i think her classroom is practically under his.

and now i can show up every tuesday to meet her on her break from class, which will happen to be in that building at 2 oclock. in fact, i can convince her to sit out the front, and we will smoke there and "people watch" and a-hey! it's prof. h! and this is my friend who *really wants to meet you* since she's heard me obsessing over you for a year! isn't that marvellous? and she is going to be my philosophical cyrano when i speack to you, since she's a philosophy student and knows all about the frankfurt school and all that stuff you write about that i can't understand, even if it was in english! wow! you have a class here? you finish at four? we should go for coffee! or better yet, i've got a little something rolled and ready to go, eh? eh? eh?

don't stop believing.

last time***next time