sorethroat
now
then
sign
readables
FAQ
host
know

jan 13 2015
annual update; still aging

Jan 13 2014
alive2014

april 26 2010
not the entry i wanted to write

nov 13 2009
polar extremes

sep 21 2009
cure for angst is dictatorship

pink blues jan 9 2001 - 3.55 pm

w-o-w.

should i wear kid gloves?

if you're angry, should you use nerf sticks to beat someone? will it help? knowing that, despite your frustrated efforts, they are not hurt by the beating?

my girl is upset at me. because i was "rude" to her last night. she called me during the american music awards (which i watched in mostly absolute horror, while my stomach hurt, my eyelids threatened to collapse forever, and my "lasagna" was being created in the oven) to mention pink.

what's the deal with pink? my girlfriend, whose musical tastes are generally in the industrial-goth-alternative range, thinks she likes pink. i think she just likes her because she calls herself pink, and she has pink hair. and she's WHITE.

oh god strike me down for saying this!!

i'll bet a billion trillion zillion dollars that most people wouldn't give a flying fudge about ms. pink if she weren't white and didn't have pink hair. because i know i wouldn't. her r n b is pretty generic. the little acoustic guitar riff has been done a thousand times, last year's efforts being from usher and tlc. the little fake opera sample in her latest single has been done, too. oh, and the proto-feminism has been taken care of, as well, by like, everyone from missy elliot to tlc. DONE LIKE DINNER.

but oh! she's white! but she acts, sounds, talks, sings, and moves just like a black girl!

she's got short pink hair, like certain alterna-dykes, like i had from 10th grade onwards!

so my girl called me when pink was performing, telling me "ohmygod, isn't she the best? that was so great! that was so cool how she did that!" (she had done a little 'girlpower' bit, with different groups of girls saying being submissive to the wants of guys, before appearing onstage) and i said

"um, she's got a bandana OVER HER EYE."
to point out that despite her "oh-i'm-not-a-booty-girl" image, she's r'n'b just like those kids who would come into the Crap with one PANT LEG pushed up, and a handtowel around their necks. there is something about the strangeness of rap/r'n'b style that just *irks* me.

apparently, this wasn't very nice. this insulted my girlfriend, who, as far as i know, has never worn a bandana over her eye.

"i was just saying her stage presence is so cool."

"yeah?"

"fine, sorry for bothering you..."

"ok. talk to you later."

let me say this:
1. um, yeah, i was in the middle of something.
2. i don't care.
3. i don't care.

so my girlfriend is mad at me because she thinks i was rude to her on the phone, because "if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all." i asked if i was supposed to hang up on her, then. she said yes. like THAT would have *really* helped. and was i being rude to her? no, maybe if pink was talking to me, i would have been rude to pink, but this wasn't directed AT my girlfriend. (she has a lot of trouble separating things from herself)

i told her today that i'm allowed not to care. just like she is allowed to care. why do i have to care?? it's fucking PINK for crying out loud? do i really care that some r'n'b star is sending a "positive message out to all the girls" of the world? no. BECAUSE I DON'T LIKE R N'B!!

now, *madonna* sent out a positive message to the girls on her latest record. THAT i care about, because it is, i believe, an intelligent song that discusses the contradictory messages that girls receive. and i *LIKE* madonna.

but PINK?!?!

pink is ruining my fucking relationship!

the last rasp

last time***next time