sorethroat
now
then
sign
readables
FAQ
host
know

jan 13 2015
annual update; still aging

Jan 13 2014
alive2014

april 26 2010
not the entry i wanted to write

nov 13 2009
polar extremes

sep 21 2009
cure for angst is dictatorship

history of adding jun 2 2001 - 5.57 pm

whadafa?

well, i just had a surprise visitor here at my humble abode. that old math teacher i was talking aboot? she dropped in. with a friend. and she was wearing a light pink rain jacket and a turquoise sweater with loons (ducks) on it. told you i wasn't sexually attracted to her.

now, my history with this particular teacher is quite interesting. i think i really fed her frail teacher ego, as i was practically the only student in class who gave a crap about improving my weakened math skills. when i found out that she was being booted, i wrote her a letter saying "stay in touch" because i'm just nice and clingy like that. i never thought that she would become more attached to me than i had been with her...but stay in touch she did.

she called me up one morning and invited me to a craft fair. i declined; i had to go bowling. (yes, HAD to.)

when i wrote to her saying that i had failed my last two math tests and didn't give a damn, she called me up and invited me over for personal tutoring. don't get excited; i was tutored in MATH, not in the ways of Sappho or anything remotely interesting like that. i aced my next test.

i stayed in touch when i was in Poland, and after my first year of university i went to visit her and her new "beau" - the ultimate 70's guy. remember matthew mcaughnehayayayayhowever it's spelt - his hair in "dazed and confused"? just like that, but with sticky-outty teeth, and not even remotely attractive. (at least with mcaughnaheyeyayey you know that he cleans up well.) skinny skinny with skinny black jeans, skinny mustache, bad BAD bad art on the walls (it MUST have been homemade - trees, moons, "gaia" sort of crap) and i nervously caught up with her while they played footsie, wrapping their legs around the other's..."my daughter wants to live with her father, it's just because he'll spoil her." SURE it is...nothing to do with this incredibly bad choice of loveygooeydooey partner. who works in a health food store. my.oh.my.

so i hadn't really written or "stayed in touch" since that fateful evening. until now. compelled, as i always seem to be, to never let people slip away in my life. it's a curse.

and she got my letter on friday.

and she was up at her trailer in a nearby cottage town.

and she decided to take a chance and drop in.

with her geeky friend.

ay ay ay. and i was nervous and out of it, and spattered my speech with "you know.." "you know..." "like.." every two minutes. my cat wanted desperately to pee on their shoes. i opened the door to let fresh air in, so they wouldn't catch a whiff of grandpa.

is she chaperoning herself or is this just a coincidence that there is always a third (or fourth) wheel to our encounters? we can't really REALLY catch up like that, always having to fill the odd person out-IN. yecch.

don't bring a stranger, please.

i mean, i'm a nice person, but my skills are only so much.

last time***next time