sorethroat
now
then
sign
readables
FAQ
host
know

jan 13 2015
annual update; still aging

Jan 13 2014
alive2014

april 26 2010
not the entry i wanted to write

nov 13 2009
polar extremes

sep 21 2009
cure for angst is dictatorship

dark horse nov 30, 2001 - 12.10 pm

wow.

i have just learned of george harrison's death. this makes me extremely sad. really.

of course everyone is going to say this, but he really was my favorite beatle. i was obsessed with his late 80s solo effort, "cloud 9" when i was a kid. like, really REALLY obsessed. it even culminated in my first drag king performance, at the age of 9, lip-synching "got my mind set on you" and wielding my new electric guitar (a terribly kind gift from my parents, except they neglected to get me lessons. i was the greatest lip-syncher/guitar-syncher of the era.). i remember being back stage at the talent show, sponging my mother's brown eyeshadow (of course, stolen from her makeup stash) on my face to create a george harrison goatee, and sliding across the stage on my knees at the climax of the guitar solo. despite getting the most screams that night (i mean really, how cuter could you get??) apparently, my performance did not consist of any "talent" as i was snubbed by the judges' panel. i resurrected the act for several other events and talent shows, incorporating my leather jacket (i swear to god i wasn't a spoiled child! just very very lucky!) and an eventual striptease, shedding coins, watches and outer layers to the verses of "it's gonna take money...it's gonna take time..."

the beatles were declared my favorite group, a sign of my maturing musical tastes, especially since i preferred george's layered sitar compisitions over the jangly tunes of paul and john.

in my later years of high school, my friend lori, also obsessed with the beatles, lamented the inevitable aging and deaths of her idols. i couldn't even imagine what it would be like without them around, re-releasing something or another (of course, i was too young to be affected by john's death).

maybe i'll get in contact with lori. this is, sadly, as good a reason as anything....

wow. this really saddens me.

last time***next time