sorethroat
now
then
sign
readables
FAQ
host
know

jan 13 2015
annual update; still aging

Jan 13 2014
alive2014

april 26 2010
not the entry i wanted to write

nov 13 2009
polar extremes

sep 21 2009
cure for angst is dictatorship

profound concerns sep 10 2004 - 5.40 pm

my god, my stomach is LOUD today.

could be that i renounced my vegetarianism for a brief moment to indulge in some therapeutic thai chicken-coconut soup. forgive me, little chickens - i have a cold. however, though i bought it from a good authentic thai restaurant, and specifically said the magic words, "spicy spicy!" it wasn't as good or rockin' to the sinuses as my own version. plus they added whole green chilies, rather than red chilies which i find have a much more potent affect on the nasal canal. green chilies just make your mouth feel like it's been scored and drenched in battery acid.

i also had green papaya salad (som tum) which, my friends, is much more common in thailand than green mango salad. i can make that from scratch, too *show off moment* and uhh, yeah, i think mine was better.

and now my stomach is explaining LOUDLY that it's having a helluva time digesting all this and, uh, well, let's just say i'm afraid to fart and leave it at that.

needless to say i haven't felt up to leaving the house today and doing all manner of things i have to do.

time for a list!
*pick up last paycheque from work, which by GOD should include my paltry vacation pay. i also need to know what i made during that position in order to...
*go to the financial aid office and finalize my loan documentation. this is where they put the measly deposit in my bank account, which will leave me with (after tuition) less than $1000 for the rest of the semester. i guess i should have lied and said that i was not going to make ANY money during my studies (stupid me for being responsible) so they might not be accounting for rent. but don't they know i have a new apartment to furnish??!? reminder:
*apply for ikea credit card
*buy paint, start painting, etc. i *was* good today and went to the paint store and got a whack of paper samples. i have stuck them to the walls (the ones that get the least light) to gauge my choices accurately. seeing the little squares there and actually having a preference is making me excited about it rather than *grooooooan*-ish as i have been.
*pick up my course readers. i have 100 pages a week of reading for one course alone...the other course, i didn't calculate yet, but it's a pure graduate course rather than a grad/undergrad course. plus i have another one to greet me on monday.

another reason i need loadsamoney is that i have to buy or rent recording/audio equipment for one of my courses! while this is ultimately frustrating, it's also rather exciting that i get to indulge in acquiring technology for a viable reason. no more ramshackle mini tape recorders for THIS oral historian, oh no! it's minidisk all the way, baby! it's a COURSE REQUIREMENT!

maybe my student loan can pay for THAT shit. it's only fair, i'd say.

having a laptop and highspeed at my disposal is proving to be very dangerous. dangerous to my health, for sure - i was up till 4 am this morning chatting online with a friend, listening to my personalized internet radio station, smoking and drinking like i was hanging out with a buddy. i checked my glands (in my neck, thank you very much) and there is a suspicious lump, but not at the back of my throat where it should be, but rather more under my jawbone towards my chin. hmm. i'm sure it's The Cancer. gets me every time.

i just noticed that it's september 10th. do americans still get twitchy in anticipation of tomorrow, i wonder? or are they, to put it psychologically, "so over it" after all the orange/high alerts? my mother is safely in england already, not doing any flying. it's funny how cynical and disbelieving one can be but still have this ingrained worry...not my mother, that is, but me.

pbs always has good features regarding sep. 11th on at this time. however, i can't watch any of it since i DON'T HAVE A TV. my god, those words coming from my own mouth -- it just seems so...so WRONG. i mean, i fucking missed "the apprentice" last night.

i ask, what is this world coming to?

last time***next time